The Future

As an aspiring journalist in 2012, with the end of my undergrad just months ahead of me, I realize journalism is never quite the same from one day to the next. My education thus far has taught me that, if nothing else.

Though I hope my performance can show that it has taught me much more.

The “golden age” of the likes of June and Ward Cleaver collecting their morning paper from the front stoop, smiling at the neighbors and going inside to read the news over coffee is quickly disappearing (but not gone yet). As much as the history and evolution of journalism interests me, I won’t get into that. What I’m doing right now, what you’re reading, is a big part of journalism.

I’m referring to this blog, which we’ll say is representative of blogs in general. More people set up blogs every day about many different topics. But it’s important to note that many journalists (which here will mean those who work for a publication, such as a newspaper, radio station, television station or an online publication like the Huffington Post, for example) keep blogs in addition to the product they put out in their publication.

But the Internet has changed networking and research, making almost anything (and anyone) accessible. In the next five years, this will most likely become more and more the norm. I don’t see the old ways totally disappearing in five years, but it looks like they’ll be taking a back seat to the new ways.

While the increasing technology and reliance on the web in journalism has been a point of controversy for the past few years, I think the web is necessary. The world will never be the same since it’s come on the scene, and neither will journalism. Nor should it be.

The Internet gives journalists like me a chance to do stuff like this: put their work out there, making it easily accessible to professors, readers and future or current employers.

Communicating with sources via email, for example, is sometimes the only way to get in touch, and I don’t know what I’d do without it.

My opportunities and possibilities are as wide as the web. I just have to know how to use it effectively.

About monicaspees

I'm Monica. I'm a twentysomething, and I like to write amusing things about my life and my observations. My imaginary alter ego is sometimes a comedian and sometimes a rock star.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

