Alphabet Series: Lazy

Day Twelve: Lazy

After college, with the exception of the last couple of months before I met Cory, I was pretty lazy in my friendships, whether I had a boyfriend or not. To be frank, it was much easier to come home and slip on some sweatpants and have a frozen mini pizza for dinner than it was to make plans with someone.

It wasn’t that I didn’t want to see my friends, and it wasn’t that I didn’t have time. I was just…a sloth.

Sloth-1
Photo found at villaperezoso.com

I’ll admit that this was partially because, after being with boyfriends, I was often left unsure of how to proceed with the friends I had not purposely neglected in the months of my slowly failing relationships. As I got older, I began to see the folly in straying my attention from my friends.

Granted, perhaps I’m not the best at planning get-togethers with my friends now, but my days are a little more full than they used to be. I often have errands to run, on top of my commitment to the gym. (While I’m on that, I don’t know why, but I always feel guilty if someone asks me to do something and it’s at a time I can’t because I know I have to fit the gym in. It’s like I’m telling them I’m the Queen of Sheba and can’t be bothered to sacrifice my pleasurable pastime of sweating and gasping for air *insert sarcastic tone*. But then I wonder when physical fitness – which can improve mental fitness – became a leisure activity and something to apologize for.)

In a way, only seeing friends every once in a while makes our meetings more special, I think. My best friend of 12 years – and future man of honor at my wedding next year – lives two and a half hours away, so actively scheduling anything with him is difficult. But we text daily, and when we see each other, it’s a real treat. Like an oasis in a desert. I really enjoy that with him and with my other friends. When I haven’t seen them in a while, I get to catch up with them, hear about their lives, learn new things about them.

Although I don’t necessarily engage with my friends every single day, I’m not lazy like I once was. And when the time comes to make plans, I’m all in.

2 Replies to “Alphabet Series: Lazy”

Leave a Reply

