The Harry Potter Book Tag

Thanks to a nomination from the awesome Fallon Willoughby, I’d like to partake in the Harry Potter Book Tag. As you look down through this list, it should be pretty obvious why it bears that name. If you haven’t read the Harry Potter books, just see this list as a simple reader’s opinion. Or you could, you know, read the books. They’ve only been published since 1997, so I can see how you haven’t had time to get around to reading them…

flagrateA book you found interesting but would like to rewrite:

Hungergames_posterI’m just going to make everyone hate me straight outta the chute: The Hunger Games, in my humble opinion, is in desperate need of a rewrite. The concept was absolutely fascinating, and there’s nothing wrong with the plot, but if I had to hear one more thing about Katniss’ wardrobe or her boy drama, I was going to toss the book in the trash. A third-person limited narrator may have been more appropriate for this book that has taken the world by storm. I’ll add that I saw the first movie and enjoyed it much better than the book because I didn’t have to stay in Katniss’ head. I also acknowledge that this series is more strongly marketed to young adults, and love triangles are the going thing for that demographic right now.

Moving on.

alohomora.pngThe first book in a series that got you hooked:

BadBeginningUndoubtedly A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Bad Beginning. I discovered this series at the elementary school book fair (seriously, how awesome were book fairs?!), and I can honestly – and sadly – say that these have been the last books I’ve actually counted the days until their release. Although they’re probably considered children’s books, I inhaled every word of the last book after its release when I was 16. I’ll probably read them again. The sarcasm and wit and social commentary drizzled throughout this series is nothing short of brilliant. I’ve seen the movie and am aware of the impending Netflix series, and I’m normally not an adaptation snob, but Count Olaf and the Baudelaire children are better in my imagination.

accioA book you wish you could have right now:

41HGJKFdW3LI picked up Where’d You Go, Bernadette? where it was on clearance at a book store out of town, but I put it back down because I’m a tight wad and told myself I didn’t need to buy it. I haven’t paid full price for a book in a long time, so I’m on the lookout for this book cheap again. How pathetic am I?

 

 

 

 

 

avadakedavraA killer book:

51JkhKFVIeL._SX303_BO1,204,203,200_Dark Places quite certainly “killed it,” as the kids say. Gillian Flynn has already proven herself, in my opinion, to be a phenomenal storyteller. I read Gone Girl first, but after I read Dark Places I realized that I felt that finished-book emptiness not just because I wanted more of the story, but also because I wanted more books by Gillian Flynn to read. (Please keep writing, girl!!!) Sharp Objects is on my to-read list.

 

 

 

 

confundoA book you find confusing:

drive-james-sallis-paperback-cover-artPlease, if someone knows what the true sequence or purpose of Drive is, let me know.

 

 

 

 

 

 

epectopatronum.pngYour spirit animal book:

18fd828fd7a00efa044f5110-jpegI am the biggest sucker in the world for The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. I’m a slow reader (as in I deliberate over each line of text and only typically read a few pages a day), so for me to say that I took the time to read this book three times and will likely read it again is a big deal for me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

spetumsemtraA dark, twisted book:

4168mnsMoEL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_A high school teacher saw me reading American Psycho in her class one day and informed me that she had to do with it what Joey from Friends did with The Shining: put it in the freezer. This is the only book I’ve ever read that has made me physically feel like I was going to vomit. Twice. I chalked that up to some good writing. The movie is one of my favorites, also.

Now that the more sane among you have concluded that I’m too deranged to keep reading my blog, I’ll move on to the last category…

 

 

adaasdA book that surprised you in a huge way:

9788420698847My AP European History class read Germinal in high school. Not only did the ending surprise me, but I was surprised that it became one of my favorite books. If you have no desire to feel any happiness in your soul for a few weeks, then this is the book for you. It’s super depressing, but it’s honest and raw, and that’s what I like about it.

 

 

 

 

 

nominees.pngAnd they are…

Amirhosein Ghazi

Haley Quinton

One Reply to “The Harry Potter Book Tag”

Leave a Reply

