He just may be the lunatic I’m looking for

This post was originally a frustrated freak-out fest with me getting gray hairs over not having a videographer, photographer or a baker for the wedding, along with a few other things. Fast forward a little more than 24 hours, and Cory somehow found a guy who does videography AND photography, AND is available on our wedding date. And I may have stumbled upon someone who can bake the groom’s cake Cory wants.

But yeah, since August, I had contacted probably eight videographers and seven photographers, all of whom said they weren’t available for our date, were outside our price range or just didn’t respond to me at all. Cory sends his first inquiry, and wah-lah, we have a videographer and photographer rolled into one. It’s like he has the Magic Touch.

With those two big things taken care of, I calmed down and scolded myself for freaking out. As I’ve said on this blog before, my goal during this wedding planning process has been to keep the important thing in mind: that Cory and I love each other and will be husband and wife, no matter what the weather does that day, no matter what the cake tastes like, no matter what the music is, no matter who does and doesn’t RSVP, no matter what the reception table centerpieces look like.

I mentally contrasted all these little things that could stress me out with all the little things about Cory that I love. Not like his eyes or his laugh – though those are nice – but like weird stuff. Like how he has random outbursts on purpose that include bizarre noises and hand gestures, just to see what I’ll do; or prolonging selfie-taking by making as many weird faces as he can; or seeing how long he can lie still with his eyes open before I get creeped out.

faces

As I was driving to Cory’s apartment one day, listening to my Essential Billy Joel album, the lyrics of “You May Be Right” hit me, and I realized the song described Cory quite well. Particularly this verse followed by the chorus:

Now think of all the years you tried to
Find someone to satisfy you
I might be as crazy as you say
If I’m crazy then it’s true
That it’s all because of you
And you wouldn’t want me any other way

You may be right
I may be crazy
But it just may be a lunatic you’re looking for
It’s too late to fight
It’s too late to change me
You may be wrong for all I know
But you may be right

I did indeed try for years to find someone to satisfy me, but no guy and I seemed to quite match up. After worrying about my future in love, I decided to just forget it altogether. Then in swaggers this good-looking, kind of wacky, unattached man who, like myself, planned to stay unattached. Some of his antics often left me with squinted eyes and a furrowed brow, trying to figure out what in the world he was doing or talking about, but I was okay with that. I thought it was cool that he was just doing his thing.

So I just did my thing.

Pretty soon, it was just us doing our thing, which included obscure pop culture references and showing each other our favorite toy we’d held onto since childhood.

I know what you’re thinking: That Billy Joel song could very well be about both of you lunatics.

Well, you may be right.

About monicaspees

I'm Monica. I'm a twentysomething, and I like to write amusing things about my life and my observations. My imaginary alter ego is sometimes a comedian and sometimes a rock star.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to He just may be the lunatic I’m looking for

  1. Renee says:

    Love this blog post and you are right “he may be a lunatic” but he’s ours!

  2. Welcome to the lunatic fringe…

  3. Isn’t it so true that when you stop looking and start being wonderful events happen in your life, or at least this is what happened with us.

Leave a Reply

