The problem with deifying Chris Pratt and Anna Faris

I hesitate to even comment on this situation I’m writing about today, but I feel like it deserves a little commentary. (Because heaven knows we certainly don’t have enough commentary on the Internet, do we? *eye roll*)

It’s been several days since the news of Chris Pratt and Anna Faris’ split hit the circuit. If they were anyone else, most folks would say, “Well, that’s par for the course. Just another celebrity couple splitting up. What else is new?” But the thing is, to a lot of people, Pratt and Faris weren’t just any old celeb couple. If you paid much attention to social media, particularly Twitter, they were The Ones Who Were Going To Make It. They were “perfect for each other.” They embodied #relationshipgoals. They were funny with each other, publicly affectionate and complimentary of each other. They have an adorable son together. They often talked about their Christian faith and prayer, like when their premature son was fighting for his life.

It was that same old line: They looked like they had it all together.

Pratt and Faris’ separation doesn’t directly affect my life, but I’m always sad to see a couple part ways, particularly a couple who has talked openly about God and the sanctity of marriage. When I saw the news, it was, ironically, from BuzzFeed.

I say “ironically” because I believe BuzzFeed was one of the major media outlets to put pressure on a union that already dealt with the constant pressure of the limelight.

I’m not going to go into the contradictions, condescension, hypocrisy and ignorance that run rampant through BuzzFeed, but suffice it to say I think this is another case in which the website has done more harm than good.

Indulge me, please.

BuzzFeed has long been one of the various media outlets to put out content that praises the Pratt-Faris union. Whether it’s a list of tweets from the stars about or back and forth to each other, or a list of the Twitterverse’s tweets reacting to the sweetness and humor of the stars’ tweets, BuzzFeed presented a perfect marriage that we should all aspire to.

Here are just a few of the articles the website published about the pair:

  • 21 Times Christ Pratt and Anna Faris Revived Our Faith In Love (June 2015)
  • 25 Times Chris Pratt and Anna Faris Proved Love Is Real In 2015 (December 2015)
  • Just 41 Facts About Anna Faris and Christ Pratt’s Adorable Relationship (March 2017)
  • 17 Times Christ Pratt and Anna Faris Were The Funniest Parents On Twitter (April 2017)
  • 19 Times Chris Pratt and Anna Faris Made You Say “Hey, Maybe Love Does Exist” (May 2017)

Granted, I’m sure the intention was to put out something nice and light so people could read a happy story instead of the common dark and dismal one. And, yes, Pratt’s and Faris’ tweets are public – as are everyone else’s – and therefore fair game for use by the media. But all BuzzFeed did was perpetuate and feed a lie.

Since Pratt and Faris announced their split on Aug. 6, BuzzFeed has published three more articles lamenting their separation.

Image result for chris pratt and anna faris
Credit: US Weekly

Clearly, things were not so hunky-dory behind closed doors at the Pratt-Faris Abode. And I have to imagine that it doesn’t help things any when you have literally thousands – maybe millions – of people spewing all over social media that you as a couple are their idols and that your marriage is exactly what they want. Then today, I saw this: “Chris Pratt’s Rapid Rise to Fame Was a Factor in Anna Faris Split: ‘They Didn’t Have a Roadmap for What This Would All Be Like.'”

The article, along with the couple’s statement from last week, states that they “tried hard for a long time” to make things work. Meanwhile, they had practically the whole free world clamoring over each other to be just like them. Or just like the image of them, rather.

Yes, my husband and I have only been married for barely more than two months, and that certainly doesn’t make us marriage experts (but who is, really?); but I can say from personal experience that it causes undue stress on any dating or married relationship for people to idolize what they think you are. I’m not talking about people saying, “Oh, you two are so good together,” or, “You all were just made for each other.” I’m talking about people saying things like those BuzzFeed headlines: “You’re the only reason I believe in love,” “If you two don’t stay together, I will never think love is real,” “You guys are everything I want in my life.”

Holy cow.

I’m not saying that anyone has said those things to Cory and me, but people have said those things to me in the past with ex-boyfriends. They don’t mean anything harmful by it, but they’re deifying two imperfect people who do not deserve to be worshiped.

Not everyone is going to agree with this opinion, and that’s fine: Human beings were not designed to be worshiped; we were designed to worship God. If we get the formula backwards, it will never work.

Cory and I, my parents, his parents and every married couple we know (and don’t know) are just regular people. I highly recommend this blog post by Heaven & Earth that asserts that marriage itself is not hard, but rather the sin in our lives and the general crap that happens to us in life, whether we’re single or married. We all mess up, we all have problems. None of us is perfect. Not me, not Cory. Not Chris Pratt, not Anna Faris.

I pray that they will find peace in this time and that other couples – celebrity or otherwise – can shut out any pressure they might be facing and just focus on each other.

Leave a Reply

